Stop bitacle.org

from stealing weblog content!

Google’s response to my complaint

Last week I wrote an email to Google, complaining about bitacle.org’s abusive behaviour and I asked them to reject bitacle.org as their customer. Today I received an answer in response to that by email. Read below what they wrote to me. The only thing I changed in the text was my own name to ‘X’.

Hello ‘X’,

Thank you for your note. It is our policy to respond to notices of alleged infringement that comply with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (the text of which can be found at the U.S. Copyright Office website: http://www.copyright.gov/) and other applicable intellectual property laws. In this case, this means that if we receive proper notice of infringement, we will forward that notice to the responsible web site publisher.

To file a notice of infringement with us, you must provide a written communication (by fax or regular mail, not by email) that sets forth the items specified below. Please note that pursuant to that Act, you may be liable to the alleged infringer for damages (including costs and attorneys’ fees) if you materially misrepresent that you own an item when you in fact do not. Accordingly, if you are not sure whether you have the right to request removal from our service, we suggest that you first contact an attorney.

To expedite our ability to process your request, please use the following format (including section numbers):

1. Identify in sufficient detail the copyrighted work that you believe has been infringed upon. For example, “The copyrighted work at issue is the text that appears on http://www.legal.com/legal_page.html.”

2. Identify the material that you claim is infringing upon the copyrighted work listed in item #1 above. You must identify each page that allegedly contains infringing material by providing its URL.

3. Provide information reasonably sufficient to permit Google to contact you (email address is preferred).

4. Include the following statement: “I have a good faith belief that use of the copyrighted materials described above on the allegedly infringing web pages is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law.”

5. Include the following statement: “I swear, under penalty of perjury, that the information in the notification is accurate and that I am the copyright owner or am authorized to act on behalf of the owner of an exclusive right that is allegedly infringed.”

6. Sign the paper.

7. Send the written communication to the following address:

Google, Inc.
Attn: AdSense Support, DMCA complaints
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View CA 94043

OR Fax to:

(650) 618-8507, Attn: AdSense Support, DMCA complaints

Regards,
The Google AdSense Team

28 September 2006 - Posted by | Abuse by bitacle.org

8 Comments »

  1. That’s an easy way out for Google, in not having to take their responsebilities! Do they want me to retrieve a few hundred URL’s at bitacle.org, where they can find my stolen weblog content?
    I almost get the feeling that Google has chosen bitacle.org’s side. Google profits from bitacle.org’s practices, don’t they?
    Time to start using another search site? A ban on Google as being bitacle.org’s accomplices?

    Comment by Jacques | 28 September 2006 | Reply

  2. Jaques,

    Actually, it is not an easy way out. It’s the law. If they remove content without a DMCA notice they could be sued by the people who lost business. They are only doing what the law says they have to.

    StopBitacle,

    If you need help filing a DMCA notice against Google, take a look at this link: http://www.plagiarismtoday.com/?p=257

    If you need a stock DMCA notice or want one for your site, shoot me an email using the contact form on my site and I’ll send you mine. There is some added information that you might need in a DMCA notice for Google, but it should work.

    Let me know if I can help.

    Comment by Jonathan Bailey | 28 September 2006 | Reply

  3. Well Jonathan, I’m not very familiar with the laws in the United States, neither am I an expert in the laws of the country I live in. I do understand that sueing in the U.S. is general practice.

    When I do want to make the request in the format as described in their message, I have to retreive those few hundred URLs on which my material appears at bitacle.org, if I choose to report every single appearance of my work. On top of that I must ‘identify in sufficient detail’ every bit of my stolen content.

    Well, I guess that I have some work to do. Thank you Jonatahan, for helping me out with your information and I will send you an email with a request for that stock DMCA notice.

    Comment by Jacques | 28 September 2006 | Reply

  4. [...] Reports to Google Adsense: Simply clicking the “Ads by Google” link will do no good. Not only has Bitacle changed the language of their Google Ads to make that harder, but Google will not respond to copyright notices sent in via that method. They have legal and business reasons for doing that. [...]

    Pingback by PlagiarismToday » Bitacle: A Plan for Action | 28 September 2006 | Reply

  5. We have to emphasize that Bitacle is cheating AdSense, not that it’s a copyright issue.

    Cut-off the AdSense, and Bitacle dies.

    Comment by engtech | 5 October 2006 | Reply

  6. @ engtech: could you please explain in which way bitacle.org is cheating AdSense and how to possibly deal with this?

    Comment by stopbitacleorg | 6 October 2006 | Reply

  7. I have a problem of some one hijacked my website.My site is http://www.ugandatravelguide.com and some one hijacked my design,layout and content of the whole site. Now google has passed my Page rank to him and now getting ranking in search results.His site is http://www.dearlead.com.
    I need an email adress for google to lodge my complaint.
    Can some one out there help me?

    Thanks.
    Robert

    Comment by Robert | 20 November 2008 | Reply

  8. Google is getting away with fraud and that’s why we should all lodge formal complaints with FBI internat fraud investigation unit. File a complaint here: http://www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx
    Also, send emails to reception-ca@google.com, reception-au@google.com, reception-uk@google.com. Google used to be clean but since the time its current owners paid off the original Google creators all they care about is money. They don’t care about the means they use and they pay their lawyers hefty fees to use all legal loopholes and keep Google away from the hand of justice.

    Comment by Gabi | 14 February 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

